European Green Capital and Green Leaf Awards: finalists announced

Five cities have been shortlisted for the 2019 European Green Capital Award, three for the 2018 Green Leaf Award. Both awards recognise cities’ commitment to environmental, social and economic sustainability.

In the running for the title of European Green Capital 2019 are Ghent (Belgium), Lahti (Finland), Lisbon (Portugal), Oslo (Norway) and Tallinn (Estonia). The three nominees for the Green Leaf Award 2018 are Leuven (Belgium), Ludwigsburg (Germany) and Växjö (Sweden).

The title of European Green Capital is awarded to larger European cities (over 100 000 inhabitants) with exemplary sustainability policies while the European Green Leaf Award is for small cities (20 000-100 000 inhabitants) – the current holder is Galway in Ireland. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 2 June 2017 in Essen, Germany, the current European Green Capital.

The awards are an initiative of the European Commission’s DG Environment. Karmenu Vella, EU Commissioner for the Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, said: “The diversity of experiences that these nominees bring shows that there are many and varied paths to becoming a modern green city.”

More information

Find out more about sustainable cities and green growth at EUSEW 2017. If you are already leading the way in sustainable energy, hold an Energy Day any time in May or June to inspire others.

Original story on 5 April 2017 at

EU policy on Urban Environment

The European Green Capital Initiative 

The European Green Leaf Award